MIN’s publisher scoops award at Marine Trades Association (MTA) dinner

The MTA awards dinner returned this week (20June22) after a two and a half years hiatus and MIN is delighted to report that its publisher, Mike Shepherd, has been awarded Personality of the Year. Shepherd was nominated for his passion to create opportunities for businesses, and his continued support of the industry at every level. All the MIN team members, editorial, advertising and support, offer him heartfelt congratulations.

“I was absolutely speechless,” says Shepherd. “Thank you to the MTA Committee – I am truly delighted and surprised. It won’t be news to anyone that I love this industry. It’s got great people, great products, and great innovations. The marine trade community is incredibly supportive of one another and I am so proud to have been involved in it since I was 16. Thank you to everyone for their continued support and particularly the brilliant team I work with, of whom I’m extremely proud.”

Guests filled the Grand Café in Southampton thanks to sponsors A-Plan Insurance, Marine Resources, Barton Marine, Barrus and ASAP Supplies to witness the ceremonies.

British Marine Trades Association Business of the Year was awarded to Marine Resources Recruitment. The award came as the recruitment company had to all-but rebuild their business in the last 12 months while maintaining a strong and successful brand position.

The Chairman’s Special Award was won by Mike Wood, who passionately founded the Disabled Sailing Association over two decades ago. Wood has personally raised and invested over £5m into sailing for disabled people and nearly 50,000 have been able to access the water using his yachts and dinghies.

During the evening the David Coleman Excellence in Exporting Award was also presented with the 2021 – 2022 award going to the Global Marine Business Advisors, collected by GMBA Business Advisor, David Lewin.

Barton Marine’s Suzanne Blaustone also retrospectively presented winners who hadn’t had an event due to covid. The 2020 – 2021 winner was Rooster Sailing and the 2019 – 2020 award went to August Race.

Mike Shepherd pictured with MTA chair, Emma York